It’s Happened Again!


I recently posted about a call to “DIB” in a young female (March6th).

I’ve had another one! This time it was to a 14yo male with a CVA (stroke).

Now it’s possible for anyone of any age to have a CVA, given the wrong circumstances. There is, though, a great deal of difference between possible and likely.

On scene, and I found a lithe kid in bed with no signs whatsoever of a stroke. He was obviously feeling very unwell and had been vomiting and had diahorrea, and was so exhausted he could hardly stand. His temperature was well elevated and (surprise) he had a headache. The patient had been feeling alternately hot and cold, with shivering. He was tachycardic, about 145-150.

I’ve got nothing to give in those circumstances, so I made reassuring noises and waited for the crew.

The crew confirmed my observations and checked temperature – well over 40°C. That alone indicated a trip to the Infirmary.

The patient had been unwell for a couple of days, but had come to a crisis, hence mum had called us. The normal antipyretics were not working.

I’m quite OK with going to a patient such as this one, even if I can’t do much. The yellow vest can give reasssurance, making patient and rellies feel better. I can let them know that no, they aren’t dying – or at least no faster than the rest of us. However, I’d like to know what I’m going to.

Most of this type of calls come via NHS Direct. The poor bl***y call-takers have a protocol that they have to abide by. Some of them must know that the advice they are giving is sometimes complete bulls*, but they have their instructions.

NHS Direct is really good when you actually speak to a nurse. It can save a lot of ambulance calls and trips to A&E. Understandably, the call-takers with no medical training obey the protocol. It’s the protocol that’s sometimes NDG.

Surely it’s better to direct a young person’s ailments to a nurse if there is only one symptom of a condition most often seen in the over-70s?

Leave a comment