Surprising Myself


Got a call to day for “paramedic assist”. He’d be on scene in three minutes – which was just as well, as it was Saturday afternoon and the roads were really busy.

A lady, nearly 100, was unconscious.

As soon as I arrived, the FRV paramedic got me to help move the lady on to the floor. I then did a few obs whilst he set up the 12-lead. He’d already got pulse (68) and sats (99%) – her obs were better than mine!

Whilst the paramedic did paramedicy things, I held the lady’s hand and talked to her. Her eyes had been shut all the time we were there, but one eye opened slightly.

“Freda, can you open your eyes?” I said, more in hope than expectation. I could see her trying to do so – so she could hear me – and then she managed to get both eyes open. I made the paramedic aware, as he was getting details from Freda’s carer. I carried on talking to her, and she managed to keep her eyes open for a while.

Freda tried to talk a little, but all her words were muxed ip. She drifted off again. I carried on talking to her and she appeared to be trying to respond. I asked her to open her eyes again, and she did. This time she was more alert, though still mumbling a bit.

Eventually, she could respond to what I was saying. Not very well, you understand, but she did have dementia and didn’t talk much anyway. She did manage to say she was thirsty and that she wanted water. Unfortunately we had to refuse her, even though she seemed dehydrated.

She said she wanted to get up, but that was going to be a problem. She was incapable of sitting unaided. I just carried on having a “conversation” with her. Her replies were monosyllabic and unclear. I kept chatting away and asking how she felt.

A bit later, she went unconscious again but after a minute or so I managed to get her to open her eyes.

Shortly afterwards, the crew came and we managed to get her into the ambulance. Off she went. I’m hoping she makes 100 not out.

Why the title? Well, the soft skills are not really my strong point but I try. Afterwards, I thought I must be learning something!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Heh am I honestly the first reply to your awesome writing!

    Reply

  2. Just tell more people about the blog!

    Reply

Leave a comment