Ambulance Time


Recently, I had the opportunity to spend a shift with one of our local crews. We’re encouragd to do this, as it’s a good way to get more experience. For me, it’s also a way of getting to know colleagues better, and thus to understand how better to help them in an emergency.

Well, it was a busy day! There was a bit of faffing about to start with, to get two (employed) people on the truck, but we then had wall-to-wall jobs.

I was on a double-technician crew and the guys were great. I like to think that my patient skills have developed over the last few years, but these blokes had it sewn up. Both of them had hair that had gone grey (and/or fallen out) in the time they’d been with the Service, and it showed. Their patient care was superb.

I like to think that my own patient skills are better than average, and it’s from watching people like these two that has helped me develop.

We went to some calls that a CFR would never go to. We had two separate calls for “woman in labour” – the first one gave birth to a healthy son. The other was the last job of our shift, so we never found out.

Busy was the operative word. We were covering a larger area than usual (as there was a shortage of trained people in our area and the one next door) so, after starting at 07.00 we managed to get a proper break at 15.00. That, of course, excludes the quick cup of tea at the hospital once or twice.

I’ve been out with crews and on the FRV before, though not for over 12 months. I shan’t leave it so long again, as it was not only thoroughly enjoyable but really instructive.

Mind you, someone else can have the guy vomiting blood next time!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Did you help deliver the baby? Sounds like a good day!

    Reply

  2. Unfortunately the baby decided that the Maternity Unit would be a better place to be born than in the (bloody cramped) back of the new-style truck! Mind you, I understand it was quite a close call!

    Reply

Leave a comment